Skip to content

And…we’re back

February 23, 2013

I am completely overstimulated by America…and I love it.

We’ve been back in the US for a few days. Jet lag was at it’s worst today. Pretty sure at dinner I said to Sam, “I am on the edge of being the worst mom in the world.” Yep, the adrenaline of Day 1 wore off and we are trudging along now. Though, lots of things are helping!! For example, I forgot just how much I love ice…and ice makers! Oh and then there is…giant Diet Cokes with free refills, Taco trucks, Margaritas, A CAR!!! God bless the USA indeed.

We are in an apartment right now but we’ve been able to visit our new house which the boys love. We signed up for a preschool, met our neighbor, found we have a Meyer Lemon tree in the backyard. Dreamy!  Our apartment isn’t too shabby either…I can’t help but think back onto our corporate housing upon arrival in London. Oh, the vast differences are many. We are diving head first into the comforts of home…although it’s a brand new, unfamiliar home…there are certainly some very predictable comforts.

I’m missing my family and friends…both in the UK and US. I’m sure that will sink in deeper in the coming weeks. But for now, there is much to do…like google where the closest Target and Homegoods stores are 🙂 Oh, and buy two cars. Yikes.

Houston has been a soft place to land, so far. A little more sleep and we’ll be ready for the rodeo…literally. There’s a parade that kicks off the rodeo in Houston tomorrow. Yeehaw!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sara permalink
    March 7, 2013 9:01 pm

    Hi there! I have been reading during your time in London! I think I clicked over from Heather’s blog? Not sure. My husband is from London so I am always intrigued, since we hope to live there one day as well! Any who, we live in Houston! Just wanted to say if you have any questions or needs some recommendations (aka Lupe Tortillas Beef Fajitas are the BEST!) shoot me an email. I am always happy to pass along information!! Hope the move has gone well!!

Leave a Reply

